Support Groups

There is nothing more powerful that connecting with other families who have children with Ds. Our support groups, conveniently located throughout the 12 counties we serve, provide regular opportunities for families to come together.

The DSA of Greater Charlotte has a number of support groups within and outside of our organization.¬†These groups support¬†families of individuals with Down syndrome from birth through adulthood. Family outings include playdates, social clubs, sibling support, mom’s nights out, educational and therapeutic-based activities.

For more information about existing support groups in your area, contact Holly Zipperer at hzipperer@dsa-gc.org.

AGE-BASED GROUPS

Roots & Shoots (Birth through Pre-K)
Christy Allen, christyallen1016@gmail.com
Jessica Allen, jessicaleeallen@yahoo.com

Rising Stars (Kindergarten through 4th grade)
Noelle Heaslet, dnicespinner@hotmail.com, 704-589-7589

Soaring Eagles (5th grade through 7th grade)
New Leadership Needed

Teens (8th grade through 11th grade)
New Leaders Coming Soon!

Adults (12th grade and Adults)
Brenden Hammeke, 704-595-3832, BrendanHammeke@gmail.com

 

LOCATION-BASED GROUPS

Gaston County
Tammy Burgess, Tammy.V.Burgess@carolinashealthcare.org

Cleveland County
Tasha Haskin, 704-472-8457, thaskinjams@gmail.com
Susan Mellon, 704-692-8576, tigersmt05@aol.com

Stanly County – Friend in Me
Sunnie Rector, rectorsunnie@yahoo.com

T21 North – North Meck, Cabarrus, Rowan, Iredell and points northward
New Leadership Needed

T21 Lincoln County
New Leadership Needed

 

SPECIALTY GROUPS

Latino Families

New Leadership Needed

African American Families

Jeannette Little, jlittleqcdo@gmail.com
Sybil Gaines, skiracerla@aol.com

D.A.D.S. (Dads Appreciating Down Syndrome)
All Dads welcome, dads@dsa-gc.org

Scott Ingold, f.scott.ingold@gmail.com
Tony Cirone, tonycirone99@gmail.com
Pete Heaslet, p_heaslet@yahoo.com
David Williams, Dwilliams459@gmail.com